Environmental Ethics

 

 

 

 

 

 

The fundamental question in Environmental Ethics is whether or not the physical world has inherent value, or whether it’s value is derived from its usefulness to human beings.

Clearly, this photo of a flower that I took someplace (really, I don’t remember where) has some value.  It’s a pretty photo, it’s a photographically good photo because the flower is clear while the background is fuzzy (the real term for that is bokeh) and it has nice color.  But, the question is whether or not the flower has value when nobody observes it?  This is kind of like the “if a tree falls in the forest and nobody is around to hear it, does it make a sound” kind of question… or, when I’m feeling sarcastic, “if a man speaks in the forest and no woman is around to hear him, is he still wrong? ” — (just kidding, I love a man… and like lots more… and they’re not always wrong 🙂 ).

If the environment has inherent worth, then it seems to follow that it has some version of rights… at least, if you’re a Kantian.  I’m not so sure that follows.  If you’re a utilitarian, nothing has inherent worth, even human beings.  If you’re some version of a virtue ethicist or social contract theorist, it doesn’t make sense to give inherent worth to inanimate objects because they can’t act to find the mean and they can’t support or violate a social contract.

But, we seem to act as if the environment has some kind of value in and of itself.  We preserve natural spaces.  We make trips to them, we photograph them (well, I do… a lot) and we appreciate their existence.  Would we do that if the environment didn’t have value in and of itself… maybe.

Perhaps the real answer is that natural spaces are good for us at a fundamental level — good for all people.  Maybe when we pay homage to them, what we’re really doing is honoring the value they bring to us — as human beings.  The effect on us is pretty clear, at least to me, they refresh and replenish our souls.  Last Spring Break I went to Colorado with my partner.  We spent several days in the mountains looking at the amazing scenery of Rocky Mountain National Park.  It was relaxing in a way that looking at the photos online never can be.  When I look back at the large number of photographs we took on that trip, I’m transported back to that clean mountain air, the warm sunshine of March in Colorado, the amazing experiences we had together in that beautiful state.  All of those memories are special because they provided a place for my soul to rest and rejuvenate.

I think every person, if they so desire, should have a similar opportunity.  That’s why it’s important to preserve natural spaces.  Protecting them for generations to come makes me realize that future generations will be able to have similar experiences to my own.  The ability to get outside of your normal life, to see amazing places and appreciate them for the wonders that they are and to put your life in perspective.

Does this mean that these spaces have inherent worth, I’m not so sure.  Perhaps they do have inherent worth for other reasons, but it seems to me that they are worth protecting for what they do for human beings…  I suppose that if it were necessary to harm or substantially alter our special wild spaces to save humanity, I’d aprove — but, only then.  No amount of money, influence or politics should be the reason… human survival, sure — greed and affluence should have no part in the decision.  period.

45 Comments

Filed under Applied Ethics

45 responses to “Environmental Ethics

  1. Have you given any kind of thought at all with translating your site in to Spanish? I know a couple of translaters right here that would certainly help you do it for no cost if you want to contact me personally.

  2. Re: Whomever created the remark that this was an excellent site really needs to get their head inspected.

  3. I experimented with viewing your web site in my cellphone and the layout doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not working with your web page.

  4. You need to really moderate the comments listed here

  5. I Will have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – however I am getting your Feed so i can go through your site offline. Cheers.

  6. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your site? I am shopping for a good host and your site appears to be extremely fast and up almost all the time

  7. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with converting your current site in to Spanish? I know a small number of translaters right here that would certainly help you do it for no cost if you want to make contact with me.

  8. I Will have to return again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Rss feed so i can read your site offline. Cheers.

  9. When I open up your Feed it appears to be a ton of nonsense, is the issue on my side?

  10. I have got 1 recommendation for your weblog. It looks like there are a few cascading stylesheet problems while opening a number of web pages within google chrome and opera. It is functioning okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check that.

  11. buy fridge freezer

    Wow! This blog is amazing. How do you make it look this good !

  12. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Rss feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  13. You should really control the responses at this website

  14. Jesus Christ there is a great deal of spammy comments on this page. Have you actually thought about attempting to get rid of them or installing a wordpress plugin?

  15. pretty valuable material, on the whole I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

  16. Im having a small issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your feed, Im using google reader by the way.

  17. Awesome post ! Thank you for, writing on my blog page mate! I will message you some time. I did not know that!

  18. The design for the site is a tad off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your blog. I may have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  19. Please email me with any tips on how you made this blog look like this , Id be thankful.

  20. Do youve got a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your scenario; we have created some great methods and we are searching to trade solutions with other people, be certain to fire me an e-mail if interested.

  21. It seems to me that this site doesnt download in a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the exact same problem? I enjoy this web site and dont want to have to miss it any time Im away from my computer.

  22. You need to really moderate the comments on this page

  23. go

    How did you make your site look this cool!? Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. .

  24. I was basically wondering if you ever considered adjusting the design of your blog? Its very well written; I really like what you have got to state. But maybe you can add a a bit more in the way of written content so people might connect with it better. You have got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  25. If you dont mind, where do you host your webpage? I am searching for a good quality web host and your website seams to be quick and up most the time

  26. Re: The person who made the statement that this was an excellent internet site truly needs to possess their brain analyzed.

  27. I Am Going To have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – however I am getting your Rss feed so i can go through your web blog offline. Thanks.

  28. Although I really like this publish, I think there was an spelling error near to the end of your 3rd paragraph.

  29. If you could message me with some tips about how you made your blog look this awesome, Id appreciate it.

  30. Re: Whomever made the statement that this was a good internet site truly needs to have their brain examined.

  31. Have you considered including a few social bookmarking links to these sites. At least for facebook.

  32. I Will have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – however I am taking your Rss feed so i could read your blog offline. Cheers.

  33. After I start your Feed it appears to be a lot of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  34. I have got 1 idea for your website. It appears like at this time there are a few cascading stylesheet problems while launching a selection of webpages in google chrome as well as internet explorer. It is working okay in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.

  35. Many of the remarks on this blog site dont make sense.

  36. I have got one idea for your web page. It appears like there are a couple of cascading stylesheet issues when opening a number of web pages within google chrome as well as firefox. It is functioning fine in internet explorer. Probably you can double check that.

  37. As soon as I originally left a comment I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a comment is added I receive four email messages with the identical comment.

  38. I was basically wondering if you ever thought of adjusting the layout of your web site? It is well written; I enjoy what youve got to say. But maybe you can include a a bit more in the way of written content so people could connect with it better. You have got a great deal of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  39. I tried taking a look at your website in my ipod touch and the format does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not working with your web page.

  40. I Am Going To have to return again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Feed so i could read your blog offline. Cheers.

  41. I was basically wondering if you ever considered switching the design of your site? Its very well written; I love what you have got to state. But maybe you can include a little more in the way of written content so people can connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two graphics. Maybe you could space it out better?

  42. It seems to me that this web site doesnt load up on a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the same issue? I like this web site and dont want to have to skip it whenever Im gone from my computer.

  43. This is really a wonderful site, could you be interested in making time for an interview regarding just how you produced it? If so e-mail me personally!

  44. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got nothing.

Leave a Reply

